The Ultimate Beauty Social Tour- Houston!

It’s Audrey!

I wanted to do a quick recap of the African Pride–The Ultimate Beauty Social Tour- Houston!

It was so nice to see all of the Houston bloggers, vloggers and media personalities- all under one roof! The Houston scene has really grown, and it’s really exciting to be part of such an amazing group of hair-minded folk! I’ve always looked upon Atlanta, DMV and NYC with envy, but Houston is definitely on the rise!

Ultimate Beauty Social- Houston

Ultimate Beauty Social- Houston

I co-hosted the event with Tamara of Natural Hair Rules and a new friend, Shasie of Live Life in Style blog. We had a great time!

Tamara of Natural Hair Rules blog (left) and Shasie of Living Life in Style blog (right)+ me (middle)

Tamara of Natural Hair Rules blog (left) and Shasie of Living Life in Style blog (right)+ me (middle)

The event was held at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in the beautiful Galleria area! We were also treated to an amazing brunch . . .  plus a round of mimosas.  I don’t drink, but I do like pretty glasses, so . . .

The event was private, small, but very vocal! After going around the room and hearing everyone’s hair story and affiliations, it was pretty clear that the majority of attendees were naturalistas. Lots of regular “pressers,” some transitioners, loc-rockers, and women with “personality pieces” (a new term I learned for wigs). There were some gorgeous relaxed ladies in the group too, and 2 were actually the winners of my free tickets! The focus of the event was healthy hair, regardless of how it’s worn.

Nicole Garner of the Garner Circle looking over the crowd.

Nicole Garner of the Garner Circle looking over the crowd.

Audrey Sivasothy with Felicia of Houston Girls with Curls

Me- Audrey Sivasothy with Felicia of Houston Girls with Curls. We go waaay back! So happy to see her there! (I’m sure you can tell by the cheesy grin!)

Carlette, Founder of BeRelaxed meetup group (blue) & winner of my tickets!

Carlette, Founder of BeRelaxed meetup group (blue) & winner of my tickets!

On to the Tea . . .

Anyway, we discussed hair trends in Houston, and of course, healthy hair care tips. A question that comes up A LOT in my Science of Black Hair workshops is . . .  what do I do about dry hair and dry scalp?- and it was a concern here too. A stylist (Kim) gave great tips for turning around dry scalp issues and recommended tea tree oil for alleviating the issue naturally. I also chimed in on that one, suggesting that the concerned attendee look at her diet (was she eating whole foods/dark leafy greens/fruit? avoiding processed, packaged foods?) . . . consider her water consumption (was she getting enough internal hydration?) . . . and her water quality. (Hard water, anyone?)  It was a good trouble-shooting session. =D

 

Discussing dry scalp issues.

Discussing dry scalp issues.

Discussing hair regimen building etc.

Discussing hair regimen building etc.

Tamara answered a great question about the usefulness of supplements within a healthy hair care regimen, and suggested that attendees  resist the lure of marketing for hair-specific supplements. I definitely agreed with her on the point that a “one-a-day” vit is enough to provide adequate coverage for most of us.  Together, all three of us underscored the importance of taking supplements of any kind only under a doctor’s supervision. Super important!

Tamara of Natural Hair Rules discussed how to work supplements into a regimen and "bedtime hair"

Tamara of Natural Hair Rules discussed how to work supplements into a regimen and “bedtime hair”

We talked about natural hair in the workplace and heard from Shasie/cohost (a chemical engineer who dons a hardhat on the job) and another woman (a military servicewoman who is stationed in TX).  It was interesting to hear from them because they work in some of the occupations that often run into challenges when it comes to our hair–relaxed or natural.

Shasie of Live Life in Style blog sharing her experiences with natural hair in the workplace.

Shasie of Live Life in Style blog sharing her experiences with natural hair in the workplace.

The Products

Before we actually started the chatting session, we saw a couple of models who’d been styled with products from the African Pride line. Wish I’d been able to get better shots, but the styles were very cute!

IMG_0273

African Pride Models at the Ultimate Beauty Social- Houston

African Pride Models at the Ultimate Beauty Social- Houston

Attendees took home full sized samples of African Prides’ newest line up from their Shea Butter Miracle line.  (There’s also a second new line– Olive Oil Miracle.) I like to consider and rate products based on a few characteristics:  smell, consistency, functionality, pH, price point $$$, and ingredients. One thing I can tell you about this line is that it smells amazing.  I mean, really. You’ll probably stand there with the jar and just sniff for a few minutes.  It’s a definite winner on smell. Some of the more ingredient-conscious among you will like the idea of natural oils and butters (shea, olive, coconut) making an appearance in the line, but we’re still a good ways from 100% organic/natural ingredients for those of you who that’s a real deal breaker for.  For the budget conscious, you’ll definitely be happy that most of the products can be had for $5 or less at major retailers. Hopefully, I’ll be able to update you all once I finish my full review of the line. =)

– Audrey

Comments

  1. I love the shampoo from the Shea batter miracle line and is my only staple shampoo.I have decided not to use the rest of all the products in the line because, I do not cone. I tried them once and it worked very well on my hair and left it soft and moisturized.
    Those of u who don´t mind cones, This is a good product line and is very moisturizing. …..I HAVE 4C DRY HAIR

    • Thanks for the comment Ayisha! For me, I don’t mind cones at all- so long as they are done reasonably. I’m more of a stickler in other areas (ie things being sulfate-free, mineral oil-free, petrolatum-free and paraben free when possible.) That being said, I did really like the leave-in conditioner and buttery creme moisturizer (used to style my twistout in the pics). If you aren’t big on ingredients then the line is definitely an affordable, easy to access one!

  2. Great recap Audrey!! I’m so happy that we met. Let’s definitely stay in touch!

Tell Us What You Think!

