Moisture Basics: Hair & Water Temperatures

Hi Guys! It’s Audrey!

Okay, so we’ve talked a little about water hardness, pH and now it’s time to round out the discussion with a little chit chat about water temperatures!

Quite often, we are guilty of using hot water to cleanse our hair and scalp.  Why?  Because it feels good! Unfortunately, it’s not the best way to do things. Our hair thrives best when we use luke warm/tepid water to cleanse . . . and finish with a water temperature cooler than that. Not only does it preserve our hair’s moisture, it also preserves our hair’s color.  Those of you with color-treated hair know what I’m talking about! Hot water leaches color like nobody’s business, and using hot water can also make your OWN natural hair color lose its vibrancy. Crazy!

The series is 4 videos all together. Here’s Part I of the series, and I’ll link to others as I post them.  Today, I’ll post the hardness video! Enjoy!

In Part II of “Moisture Basics: Water Problems” we cover water temperature and how they affect the moisturization process. This video summarizes and ends the moisture series for now! We’ll answer questions like:

“What’s the difference between hot and cold water?”

“Does cooler water affect the hair differently than warmer water?”

Hot water encourages our hair to swell and open up, and cooler water causes our hair to constrict, lay flatter and tighten. It’s similar to the effect that high and low pHs have on our hair.  Warm water works best during the cleansing phase because it lifts product more efficiently than cooler water. Cooler water is best for closing out the conditioning session because it adds sheen and also defines curls better than warm water.  Warm water tends to encourage shrinkage and if the hair isn’t cleansed in organized sections– a netted, weblike situation.  Now, this can be useful, depending on what you are trying to do with your hair.  For example: I like to mist warm water on my stretched hair to encourage my puffs and ‘fros to shrink, frizz and take shape faster . . . but I’ll rinse in cool water on other days to help my natural hair stretch or form coils/curls better.

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for sharing your video.I am glad you showed the difference between hot and cold water. Now when I want my hair to react a certain way, I will have an understanding what warm and cold will do to my hair.

  2. http://www.hairopen.org says:

    I love this article and video, it’s very informational .

  3. I love this article and video, it’s very informational .The hair products are great.

  4. I love this video!!! but I wnated ot ask you about the products in your survey…Why isn’t Taliah Waajid’s products listed? Just curious. I was going to start purchasing her conditioner.

  5. Thanks everyone for the comments!

Tell Us What You Think!

